Islam is a monotheistic religion revealed to the prophet Muhammad in Mecca in Arabia in the 7th century.

The Muslim religion is based on a revelation in the Arabic language, presenting itself as resulting from the continuity of the original religion of Adam, Noah, and all the prophets among whom it also places Jesus (called Îsâ in the Koran). Thus, Islam describes itself as a return to the pure monotheism of Abraham (called Ibrahim), from the point of view of belief.

The holy book of Islam is the Quran. Islamic dogma assures that it contains the collection of the revelation of Allah, which was carried out on his prophet Muhammad through the intermediary of the archangel Gabriel (called Jibril in the Koran).

The Quran recognizes the divine origin of all the sacred books of the Judaism and christianity, while considering that they have, in their current forms, undergone falsifications: the Suhuf-i-Ibrahim (the Papers of Abraham), the Tawrat (the Pentateuch or the Torah) of Moussa (Moses), the Zabur of Daoud (David) and Suleyman (Solomon) (identified with the Book of Psalms) and the Injil (the Gospel) of Îsâ (Jesus).

Islam holidays

Festivals of the currents of Islam

Holidays of the month

  • March 10, 2024 (1 event)

    March 10, 2024

    Ramadan

    Today, Muslims begin the month of Ramadan (meaning summer heat) and the eponymous fast or saoum. Fasting during the month of Ramadan is one of the five pillars of Islam. Adults should not eat, drink or have sexual intercourse from dawn to dusk. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #ramadan #saoum

    Learn more

  • March 22, 2024 (1 event)

    March 22, 2024

    nevruz

    Today, the Bektashi people of Albania celebrate Nevruz. This festival commemorates the birth of Ali Ibn Abi Talib in the 5th century CE. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #March 22 #nevruz #AliIbnAbiTalib

  • March 28, 2024 (1 event)

    March 28, 2024

    Nuzul Al Quran

    Today, Muslims commemorate Nuzul Al-Quran. This event refers to the revelation of the first recitation of the Quran by the archangel Gabriel to the prophet Muhammad in a cave on Mount Hira near Mecca. #mythology #myth #legend #Islam #calendar #quran

    Learn more

Cultural areas of Islam

Islam (الإسلام submission) is an Abrahamic religion based on the dogma of absolute monotheism (تَوْحيد, tawhid) and taking its source from the Koran, considered as the receptacle of the revealed word of God (الله, Allah), in the 7th century in Arabia, to Muhammad (محمّد, Muḥammad), proclaimed by believers as the last prophet of God.

A follower is called a Muslim; he has religious duties, often called the “pillars”. Muslims believe that God is unique and indivisible and that it is natural religion in the sense that it does not need faith in divine unity to establish the existence of God, this truth being given entirely from the beginning. first day and from the first Man (Adam). Thus, it presents itself as a return in the footsteps of Abraham (called, in Arabic, Ibrahim), in an exclusive submission to the will of Allah.

A century after the prophet's death, an Islamic empire expanded from the Atlantic Ocean in the west to Central Asia in the east. This religion was born in a context of endemic violence and is carried by a war leader. Numerous battles characterize this period. From the first caliph, Abu Bakr, a war was waged by Arabs who defended their ancestral beliefs. The death of the third caliph led to a civil war among the Muslims. This period of territorial expansion and political construction of the caliphate saw the establishment of religion, its dogmas, its norms and its rites.

The Abbasid Caliphate saw the establishment of a fixation on the Muslim religion. During this period (approximately from the 9th to the 11th century of the common era), the sîra and the hadiths were written down and chains of oral transmission reconstructed.

For Muslims, the Quran brings together the words of Allah, revelations (āyāt) made to the last prophet and messenger of God Muhammad (محمد, Muḥammad, "the praised") from 610–612 until his death in 632 by the archangel Gabriel (جبريل, Jibrîl).

According to traditions, Muhammad being illiterate until the advanced age of 40, he was not the one who wrote down the Koran. During the life of Muhammad, the transmission of texts was mainly done orally and was based on this “recitation” which is precisely evoked by the term qur'ān, even after the establishment in Medina.

Still according to these traditions, shortly after the death of Muhammad (in 632), a first collection of the Koran was compiled under the authority of the first caliph and father-in-law of Muhammad, Abu Bakr As-Siddiq, who, at the request of Omar ibn al-Khattâb, when a large number of companions who had memorized the Koran by heart were killed at the battle of Al-Yamama, put the scribe of the prophet Zayd ibn Thâbit at the head of a commission whose mission was to bring together all the passages recited during his lifetime in order to save them in a writing deposited in the hands of his daughter Aïcha, widow of Mohammed.

The third caliph, Othmân ibn Affân (644-656), following discrepancies in recitations that arose between Iraqis and Syrians, would have asked Hafsa to lend him the manuscript in his possession in order to establish a unique and official text based on this edition and to send bound copies to the different Muslim provinces. In order to eliminate any risk of error and to ward off any possible dispute, the commission only accepted writings which had been written in the presence of Muhammad and required two reliable witnesses in support, who had actually heard Muhammad recite the verses in question.

L’islam est une religion monothéiste révélée au prophète Mahomet à La Mecque en Arabie au VIIe siècle.

La religion musulmane se fonde sur une révélation en langue arabe, se présentant comme issue de la continuité de la religion originelle d’Adam, de Noé, et de tous les prophètes parmi lesquels elle place aussi Jésus (appelé Îsâ dans le Coran). Ainsi, l’islam se décrit comme un retour au monothéisme pur d’Abraham (appelé Ibrahim), du point de vue de la croyance.

Le livre sacré de l’islam est le Coran. Le dogme islamique assure qu’il contient le recueil de la révélation d’Allah, qui s’est exécutée sur son prophète Mahomet par l’intermédiaire de l’archange Gabriel (appelé Jibril dans le Coran).

Le Coran reconnaît l’origine divine de l’ensemble des livres sacrés du judaïsme et du christianisme, tout en considérant qu’ils ont, dans leurs formes actuelles, subit des falsifications : le Suhuf-i-Ibrahim (les Feuillets d’Abraham), la Tawrat (le Pentateuque ou la Torah) de Moussa (Moïse), le Zabur de Daoud (David) et Suleyman (Salomon) (identifié au Livre des Psaumes) et l’Injil (l’Évangile) de Îsâ (Jésus).

islam fêtes

Fêtes des courants de l'Islam

Fêtes du mois

  • 10 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    10 mars 2024

    Ramadan

    Aujourd’hui, les musulmans commencent le mois de Ramadan (signifiant chaleur de l’été) et le jeûne ou saoum éponyme. Le jeûne du mois de ramadan constitue l’un des cinq piliers de l’islam. Les adultes ne doivent pas manger, boire, avoir de rapport sexuel de l’aube au coucher du soleil. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #ramadan #saoum

    En savoir plus

  • 22 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    22 mars 2024

    nevruz

    Aujourd'hui, le peuple Bektashis d'Albanie fête Nevruz. Ce festival commémore la naissance d'Ali Ibn Abi Talib au 5ième siècle CE. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #22mars #nevruz #AliIbnAbiTalib

  • 28 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    28 mars 2024

    Nuzul Al-Quran

    Aujourd’hui, les musulmans commémorent Nuzul Al-Quran. Cette événement fait référence à la révélation de la première récitation du Coran par l’archange Gabriel au prophète Mahomet dans une grotte du mont Hira à proximité de la Mecque. #mythologie #mythe #légende #islam #calendrier #quran

    En savoir plus

Zones culturelles de l'Islam

L’islam ( الإسلام  la soumission) est une religion abrahamique s’appuyant sur le dogme du monothéisme absolu (تَوْحيد, tawhid) et prenant sa source dans le Coran, considéré comme le réceptacle de la parole de Dieu (الله, Allah) révélée, au viie siècle en Arabie, à Mahomet (محمّد, Muḥammad), proclamé par les croyants comme étant le dernier prophète de Dieu.

Un adepte est appelé un musulman ; il a des devoirs cultuels, souvent appelés les « piliers ». Les musulmans croient que Dieu est unique et indivisible et que c’est la religion naturelle au sens où elle n’a pas besoin de la foi en l’unicité divine pour constater l’existence de Dieu, cette vérité étant donnée tout entière dès le premier jour et dès le premier Homme (Adam). Ainsi, elle se présente comme un retour sur les pas d’Abraham (appelé, en arabe, Ibrahim), en une soumission exclusive à la volonté d’Allah.

Un siècle après la mort du prophète, un empire islamique s’est étendu depuis l’océan Atlantique à l’ouest jusqu’à l’Asie centrale à l’est. Cette religion naît dans un contexte de violence endémique et est porté par un chef de guerre. De nombreuses batailles caractérisent cette période. Dès le premier calife, Abou Bakr, une guerre est menée par des arabes qui défendaient leurs croyances ancestrales. La mort du troisième calife entraîne une guerre civile parmi les musulmans. Cette période d’expansion territoriale et de construction politique du califat voit se mettre en place la religion, ses dogmes, ses normes et ses rites.

Le califat abbasside voit se mettre en place une fixation de la religion musulmane. Durant celui-ci (approximativement du ixe au xie siècle de l’ère commune), la sîra et les hadiths sont mis par écrit et des chaînes de transmission orale reconstruites

Pour les musulmans, le Coran regroupe les paroles d’Allah, révélations (āyāt) faites au dernier prophète et messager de Dieu Mahomet (محمد, Muḥammad, « le loué ») à partir de 610–612 jusqu’à sa mort en 632 par l’archange Gabriel (جبريل, Jibrîl).

Selon les traditions, Mahomet étant analphabète jusqu’à l’âge avancé de 40 ans, il n’est pas celui qui a mis par écrit le Coran. Durant la vie de Mahomet, la transmission des textes se faisait principalement de manière orale et se fondait sur cette « récitation » qu’évoque précisément le terme qur’ān, même après l’établissement à Médine.

Toujours selon ces traditions, peu après la mort de Mahomet (en 632), un premier recueil du Coran fut compilé sous l’autorité du premier calife et beau-père de Mahomet, Abou Bakr As-Siddiq, qui, à la demande d’Omar ibn al-Khattâb, lorsqu’un grand nombre de compagnons ayant mémorisé le Coran par cœur furent tués à la bataille d’Al-Yamama, met le scribe du prophète Zayd ibn Thâbit à la tête d’une commission ayant pour mission de réunir tous les passages récités de son vivant afin de les sauvegarder dans un écrit déposé entre les mains de sa fille Aïcha, veuve de Mahomet.

Le troisième calife, Othmân ibn Affân (644-656), à la suite de divergences de récitations survenues entre Irakiens et Syriens, aurait demandé à Hafsa de lui prêter le manuscrit en sa possession afin de fixer un texte unique et officiel à partir de cette édition et d’expédier des copies reliées dans les différentes provinces musulmanes. Afin d’éliminer tout risque d’erreur et de parer à toute éventuelle contestation, la commission n’accepta que les écrits qui avaient été rédigés en présence de Mahomet et exigea deux témoins fiables à l’appui, qui avaient réellement entendu Mahomet réciter les versets en question.