In our context, Europe refers to the peoples of Romanesque culture (Rome is treated separately), Celtic, Germanic, Scandinavian, Icelandic and Breton. The peoples slavs have their own section.

europe parties

Festivals in Europe

Holidays of the month

  • March 1, 2024 (2 events)

    March 1, 2024

    Baba Dochia

    Today, the descendants of the Dacian and Thracian peoples (Romanians, Bulgarians, etc.) celebrate Baba Dochia or Baba Marta. The Martenitsi festival marks the world's impatience for the return of spring. Custom dictates that the cantankerous grandmother must be appeased for spring to triumph. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar 1TP5Q1March #muramie #bulgaria #babadochia #babamarta

    Learn more

    March 1, 2024

    Chalandamarz

    Today, the Swiss celebrate Chalandamarz. Of Roman origin, this festival helps chase away winter and evil spirits to begin spring under favorable auspices. Children, in traditional outfits, sing and ring bells in the streets. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #1March #Switzerland #Chalandamarz

  • March 12, 2024 (1 event)

    March 12, 2024

    Grækarismessa

    Aujourd'hui, les Féroïens fêtent Grækarismessa (la messe grecque), en l'honneur du pape Græcaris le Grand, décédé le 12 mars 604. Ce jour est souvent le premier jour de la migration des Oystercatchers sur l'île ce qui marque le début du printemps. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #12mars #Grækarismessa #Oystercatchers #IlesFeroe

  • March 19, 2024 (2 events)

    March 19, 2024

    fallas

    Today, the inhabitants of Valencia (Spain) celebrate Fallas, the day of Saint Joseph, patron saint of carpenters. The night of March 15 is the Plantà for which gigantic statues are erected in composite materials, supported by wooden structures which serve as support. n jury comes to see all the fallacies of Valencia the next day and awards the prizes. They will all be burned on March 19 where they were planted. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #March 15 #March 19 #fallas #valence 1TP5Spain

    March 19, 2024

    Day of the Kashubians

    Today, the Kashubians (in eastern Pomerania) celebrate their unity. Their culture is highlighted in particular by a Baśka card game tournament. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #March 19 #Kashoube #Pomeranian #Poland #Germany

  • March 21, 2024 (1 event)

    March 21, 2024

    Ēostre

    On this day, the Germanic peoples (including Anglo-Saxons) worshiped the goddess Eostre (Ostara in old German). Easter in English is derived from the name of the goddess. It is assumed that the rabbit and egg customs come from ancient rites. #mythology #myth #legend #easter #eostre #ostara #calendar #March 21

    Learn more

  • March 28, 2024 (1 event)

    March 28, 2024

    Ragnar Lodbrok

    Today, the Asatrus commemorate Ragnar Lodbrok. This Viking hero, at the heart of the legends of Scandinavia, the British Islands and even the Holy German Empire, was king of Sweden and Denmark. His saga is the source of Scandinavian nationalism although the stories blended the lives of various characters into a single hero. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #RagnarLodbrok #28March #Scandinavia

Cultural areas in Europe

The history of Europe is one of the best documented, studied and known parts of world history and refers to all the events linked to the European continent, from the time it was populated by the first peoples until until today. According to the German monograph Minderheitenrechte in Europa co-edited by Pan and Pfeil (2002), there are 87 distinct peoples, of which 33 constitute the majority of the population in at least one sovereign state, while the remaining 54 constitute minority ethnic groups.

In ancient times, Indo-European peoples practiced cults that had many things in common. The Germanic, Celtic mythological systems, Slavic, Greek and Latin had common features, such as the belief in a fundamental divine “triad”, and the division of men into several categories of distinct social rank.

In Europe, ancient religions are subdivided into:

  • faith in the Aesir and the Vanirs, which we today call Odinism, according to Germanic mythology;
  • faith in Scandinavian deities, according to Scandinavian mythology;
  • Druidism and its late Irish variant, the religion of the Filid, according to Celtic mythology;
  • orphism, according to Thracian and Dacian mythology;
  • faith in Scythian deities, according to the Scythian religion;
  • faith in deities slavs, according to mythology Slavic ;
  • faith in Greek deities, according to Greek mythology;
  • faith in Roman deities, according to Roman mythology;
  • in the Empire Roman, in addition to the gods of Olympus, mystery cults were also practiced and, in late antiquity, the christianity primitive.

One of the common points between religions prior to the christianity is polytheism, sometimes pantheistic, sometimes animistic.

Proselytism was not widespread among European peoples, each religion being that of a group of populations equally linked by language, and which had its own deities.

Dans notre contexte, l’Europe désigne les peuples de culture Romane (Rome est traité à part), Celte, Germain, Scandinave, Islandais et Bretonne. Les peuples slaves ont leur propre section.

europe fêtes

Fêtes en Europe

Fêtes du mois

  • 1 mars 2024 (Les événements 2)

    1 mars 2024

    Baba Dochia

    Aujourd’hui, les descendants des peuples Daces et Thraces (Roumains, Bulgares, etc.) célèbrent Baba Dochia ou Baba Marta. La fête des Martenitsi marque l’impatience du monde pour le retour du printemps. La coutume veut qu’il faut apaiser la grand-mère acariâtre pour que le printemps triomphe. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #1ermars #mouramie #bulgarie #babadochia #babamarta

    En savoir plus

    1 mars 2024

    Chalandamarz

    Aujourd'hui, les Suisses fêtent Chalandamarz. D'origine romaine, cette fête permet de chasser l'hiver et les esprits malins pour débuter le printemps sous des auspices favorables. Les enfants, en tenues traditionnelles, chantent et font sonner les cloches dans les rues. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #1ermars #Suisse #Chalandamarz

  • 12 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    12 mars 2024

    Grækarismessa

    Aujourd'hui, les Féroïens fêtent Grækarismessa (la messe grecque), en l'honneur du pape Græcaris le Grand, décédé le 12 mars 604. Ce jour est souvent le premier jour de la migration des Oystercatchers sur l'île ce qui marque le début du printemps. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #12mars #Grækarismessa #Oystercatchers #IlesFeroe

  • 19 mars 2024 (Les événements 2)

    19 mars 2024

    fallas

    Aujourd'hui, les habitants de Valence (Espagne) fêtent les Fallas, jour de la saint Joseph, patron des charpentiers. La nuit du 15 mars, c'est la Plantà pour laquelle on dresse de gigantesques statues en matériaux composites, soutenues par des structures de bois qui servent de support. n jury passe voir toutes les falles de Valence le lendemain et décerne les prix. Elles seront toutes brûlées le 19 mars là où elles étaient plantées. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendier #15mars #19mars #fallas #valence #espagne

    19 mars 2024

    Jour des Kachoubes

    Aujourd'hui, les Kachoubes (dans l'est de la Poméranie) fêtent leur unité. Leur culture est mise à l'honneur notamment par un tournoi du jeu de carte Baśka. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #19mars #Kachoube #Pomeranie #Pologne #Allemagne

  • 21 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    21 mars 2024

    Ēostre

    En ce jour, les peuples germains (dont anglo-saxons) vénéraient la déesse Eostre (Ostara en vieux allemand). Easter en anglais est dérivé du nom de la déesse. On suppose que les coutumes du lapin et des œufs proviennent des anciens rites. #mythologie #mythe #légende #easter #eostre #ostara #calendrier #21mars

    En savoir plus

  • 28 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    28 mars 2024

    Ragnar Lodbrok

    Aujourd'hui, les Asatrus commémorent Ragnar Lodbrok. Ce héro viking, au cœur des légendes de la Scandinavie, des iles Brittaniques et même du Saint Empire Germanique fut roi de Suède et de Danemark. Sa saga est la source du nationalisme scandinave bien que les récits ont mélangé la vie de divers personnage en un seul héro. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #RagnarLodbrok #28Mars #Scandinavie

Zones culturelles en Europe

L’histoire de l’Europe est une des parties les mieux documentées, étudiées et connues de l’histoire mondiale et fait référence à l’ensemble des événements liés au continent européen, depuis qu’il a été peuplé par les premiers peuples jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Selon la monographie allemande Minderheitenrechte in Europa coéditée par Pan et Pfeil (2002), il existe 87 peuples distincts, dont 33 constituent la majorité de la population dans au moins un État souverain, tandis que les 54 autres constituent des groupes ethniques minoritaires.

Dans l’Antiquité, les peuples indo-européens ont pratiqué des cultes qui avaient de nombreux points communs. Les systèmes mythologiques germanique, celte, slave, grec et latin présentaient des traits communs, comme la croyance en une « triade » divine fondamentale, et la division des hommes en plusieurs catégories de rang social distinct.

En Europe, les religions antiques se subdivisent en :

  • foi en les Ases et les Vanes, que l’on appelle aujourd’hui odinisme, selon la mythologie germanique ;
  • foi en les divinités scandinaves, selon la mythologie scandinave ;
  • druidisme et sa variante irlandaise tardive, la religion des filid, selon la mythologie celtique ;
  • orphisme, selon la mythologie thrace et dace ;
  • foi en les divinités scythes, selon la religion scythe ;
  • foi en les divinités slaves, selon la mythologie slave ;
  • foi en les divinités grecques, selon la mythologie grecque ;
  • foi en les divinités romaines, selon la mythologie romaine ;
  • dans l’Empire romain, outre les dieux de l’Olympe, on pratiquait aussi les cultes à mystères et, dans l’antiquité tardive, le christianisme primitif.

L’un des points communs entre les religions antérieures au christianisme est le polythéisme, parfois panthéiste, parfois animiste.

Le prosélytisme n’était pas répandu parmi les peuples européens, chaque religion étant celle d’un groupe de populations également liées par la langue, et qui avait ses propres divinités.