Shinto (神道, the way of the gods or the way of the divine) or Shintoism is a set of beliefs dating from the ancient history of Japan, sometimes recognized as a religion. It mixes polytheistic and animistic elements.

From time immemorial, the Japanese have worshiped kami — spirits that inhabit or represent a particular place, or embody natural forces like wind, rivers, and mountains. Each time a village was created, a sanctuary was erected to honor the surrounding spirits and thereby ensure their protection. It was believed that kami could be found everywhere, that no place in Japan was beyond their power. Shintoism therefore encompasses the doctrines, institutions, rituals and community life based on the worship of the kami.

shinto festivals

Shinto festivals

Holidays of the month

  • March 3, 2024 (1 event)

    March 3, 2024

    Hinamatsuri

    Today the Japanese celebrate Hinamatsuri, the doll festival. This day is dedicated to young girls. Little girls display precious dolls. These dolls are sometimes passed down from generation to generation. They represent characters from the imperial court of the Heian era. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar 1TP5Q3March #japan #hinamatsuri

    Learn more

  • March 13, 2024 (1 event)

    March 13, 2024

    Kasuga Matsuri

    Today, the Japanese of Nara celebrate Kasuga Matsuri at the Kasuga-taisha temple. The festival presents the dances of gagaku and bugaku, Yamato-mai which date back to the Heian and Nara periods. This festival also organizes a horse festival which consists of a parade through the streets by a sacred horse. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #March 13 #Kasuga%atsuri #KasugaTaisha #Nara #Japan

  • March 15, 2024 (1 event)

    March 15, 2024

    Honensai

    Today, the Japanese of Komaki celebrate Hōnen Matsuri. This festival, more than 1500 years old, celebrates fertility, the Earth's ability to regenerate itself, and good harvests. This holiday is often called the “penis festival”. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #March 15 #Japan #penis #HonenMatsuri

    Learn more

  • March 20, 2024 (1 event)

    March 20, 2024

    Shunbun no Hi

    Today, the Japanese celebrate Shunbun no Hi (spring equinox). The festival was originally an opportunity to visit the graves of loved ones and pay respects to ancestors. The Japanese also took the time to renew their lives by cleaning their homes and changing their daily lives. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #Japan #SjunbunnoHi #HiganNoNakaba

  • March 28, 2024 (1 event)

    March 28, 2024

    Sen no Rikyū

    Today, the Japanese pay homage to the tea master of the Wabi school, Sen no Rikyū. He became a monk at Daitoku-ji temple and a specialist in chanoyu, the Japanese tea ceremony. He enters the service of Oda Nobunaga before being forced to commit suicide by seppuku. #mythology #myth #legend #calendar #japan #tea #March 28

    Learn more

Cultural areas of Shintoism

Shintoism is an animist religion. The major concept of Shintoism is the sanctity of nature. The resulting deep respect defines the place of man in the universe: to be an element of the great All. Thus, a watercourse, a star, a charismatic character, a simple stone or even abstract notions such as fertility can be considered as divinities. Respect for ancestors and feelings of communion with the forces of the universe and past generations are the spiritual bases of Shinto.

Issued from the cosmic Unity, the flows founding life are embodied in a multitude of kami. The polytheism that emanates from it is infinite, in the sense that each particle of life is sacred. Shinto mythology says that there are 8 million kami Happyakuman (八百万?) because the kanji are also read yaoyorozu, meaning a myriad, that is to say an indefiniteness, an unquantifiable number. By descending to Earth to breathe life into it, the kami created the Japanese archipelago.

Countless, the kami are everywhere, hiding in the most diverse forms, in the most unexpected places. It is therefore advisable to be extremely careful with them, especially since the smallest are sometimes the most susceptible. Their character is ambiguous, like nature itself. All of them, including the best among them and the greatest, possess a "spirit of violence", arami-tama (荒御魂), which must be reconciled or neutralized by appropriate rites.

Some are even dangerous in their principle, such as the "gods of epidemics" or the "gods of insects", predators of rice. All can hit you with a Tatar (祟り). The old definitions that are given of it have a more physical than moral character: it is thus that contact with death, blood, excrement provokes ritual defilement; but life in society will lead to a broadening of this notion of tsumi, and certain social offenses will be qualified as such (destruction of a dyke of rice fields).

In principle, however, the tsumi, like the tatari which is its almost automatic consequence, seems to have to be defined in a way that is both more vague and more general. Numerous examples, even recent ones, indeed show that one can be struck by a Tatar as long as one has encroached, even unconsciously, on the domain of a kami; the tsumi is in short the transgression of certain limits, not always formally prohibited or specified, but charged with a formidable magical potential due to the mere presence of the kami.

Purification rituals are of singular importance in Shinto belief. To escape the consequences of an imprudently incurred tatari, it is necessary to "purify" those around you (祓う) or yourself (清む). These two terms are used to define the usual actions of cleaning "sweeping, cleaning, washing", and other more symbolic with ritual ablutions.

Le shinto (神道, la voie des dieux ou la voie du divin) ou shintoïsme est un ensemble de croyances datant de l’histoire ancienne du Japon, parfois reconnues comme religion. Elle mêle des éléments polythéistes et animistes.

Depuis des temps immémoriaux, les Japonais ont adoré les kami — les esprits qui habitent ou représentent un lieu particulier, ou incarnent des forces naturelles comme le vent, les rivières et les montagnes. À chaque création d’un village, un sanctuaire était érigé afin d’honorer les esprits environnants et de ce fait s’assurer de leur protection. On croyait que les kami pouvaient être trouvés partout, qu’aucun lieu au Japon n’était en dehors de leur pouvoir. Le shintoïsme englobe donc les doctrines, les institutions, les rituels et la vie communautaire fondée sur le culte des kami.

shinto fêtes

Fêtes du Shinto

Fêtes du mois

  • 3 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    3 mars 2024

    Hinamatsuri

    Aujourd’hui, les japonais fêtent Hinamatsuri, la fête des poupées. Ce jour est consacré aux jeunes filles. Les petites filles exposent de précieuses poupées. Ces poupées se transmettent parfois de génération en génération. Elles représentent des personnages de la cour impériale de l’ère Heian. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #3mars #japon #hinamatsuri

    En savoir plus

  • 13 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    13 mars 2024

    Kasuga Matsuri

    Aujourd'hui, les japonais de Nara fêtent Kasuga Matsuri au temple de Kasuga-taisha. Le festival présente les danses du gagaku et du bugaku, du Yamato-mai qui remontent aux périodes Heian et Nara. Ce festival organise également une fête du cheval qui consiste en un défilé dans les rues par un cheval sacré. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #13mars #Kasuga%atsuri #KasugaTaisha #Nara #Japon

  • 15 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    15 mars 2024

    Hōnensai

    Aujourd’hui, les japonais de Komaki fêtent le Hōnen Matsuri. Cette fête de plus de 1500 ans célèbre la fertilité, la capacité de la Terre à se régénérer, les bonnes récoltes. Cette fête est souvent appelée le « festival du pénis». #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #15mars #japon #penis #HonenMatsuri

    En savoir plus

  • 20 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    20 mars 2024

    Shunbun no Hi

    Aujourd'hui, les japonais fêtent Shunbun no Hi (équinoxe du printemps). La fête était à l'origine une occasion de visiter les tombes de leurs proches et de rendre hommage aux ancêtres. Les Japonais prenaient également le temps de renouveler leur vie en nettoyant leur maison et en changeant leur quotidien. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #Japon #SjunbunnoHi #HiganNoNakaba

  • 28 mars 2024 (1événement TP2T)

    28 mars 2024

    Sen no Rikyū

    Aujourd’hui, les japonais rendent hommage au maître du thé de l’école wabi, Sen no Rikyū. Il devient moine au temple Daitoku-ji et spécialiste du chanoyu, la cérémonie du thé japonaise. Il entre au service d’Oda Nobunaga avant d’être obligé de se suicider par seppuku. #mythologie #mythe #légende #calendrier #japon #thé #28mars

    En savoir plus

Zones culturelles du Shintoïsme

Le shintoïsme est une religion animiste. Le concept majeur du shintoïsme est le caractère sacré de la nature. Le profond respect en découlant définit la place de l’homme dans l’univers : être un élément du grand Tout. Ainsi, un cours d’eau, un astre, un personnage charismatique, une simple pierre ou même des notions abstraites comme la fertilité peuvent être considérés comme des divinités. Le respect des ancêtres et les sentiments de communion avec les forces de l’univers et les générations passées sont les bases spirituelles du shinto.

Issus de l’Unité cosmique, les flux fondant la vie s’incarnent en une multitude de kami. Le polythéisme qui s’en dégage est infini, dans le sens où chaque parcelle de vie est sacrée. La mythologie shinto dit qu’il existe 8 millions de kami Happyakuman (八百万?) car les kanji se lisent également yaoyorozu, signifiant une myriade, c’est-à-dire une indéfinité, un nombre inquantifiable. En descendant sur Terre pour y insuffler la vie, les kami ont créé l’archipel japonais.

Innombrables, les kami sont partout, se cachant sous les formes les plus diverses, aux endroits les plus inattendus. Il convient donc de se montrer à leur égard d’une prudence extrême, d’autant que les plus petits sont parfois les plus susceptibles. Leur caractère est ambigu, comme la nature elle-même. Tous, y compris les meilleurs d’entre eux et les plus grands, possèdent un « esprit de violence », arami-tama (荒御魂), qu’il faut se concilier ou neutraliser par des rites appropriés.

Certains sont même dangereux dans leur principe, tels les « dieux des épidémies » ou les « dieux des insectes », prédateurs du riz. Tous peuvent vous frapper d’un tatari (祟り). Les définitions anciennes qui en sont données ont un caractère plus physique que moral : c’est ainsi que le contact de la mort, du sang, des excréments provoque une souillure rituelle ; mais la vie en société entraînera un élargissement de cette notion de tsumi, et l’on qualifiera ainsi certaines infractions sociales (destruction d’une digue de rizières).

Dans son principe toutefois, le tsumi, comme le tatari qui en est la conséquence quasi automatique, semble devoir être défini d’une manière à la fois plus vague et plus générale. De nombreux exemples, même récents, montrent en effet que l’on peut être frappé par un tatari pour peu que l’on ait empiété, fût-ce inconsciemment, sur le domaine d’un kami ; le tsumi est en somme la transgression de certaines limites, non toujours formellement interdites ni précisées, mais chargées d’un potentiel magique redoutable dû à la simple présence du kami.

Les rituels de purification revêtent une importance singulière dans la croyance shinto. Pour échapper aux conséquences d’un tatari imprudemment encouru, il convient de « purifier » son entourage (祓う) ou soi-même (清む). Ces deux termes sont employés pour définir des actions usuelles de nettoyage « balayer, nettoyer, laver », et d’autres plus symboliques avec les ablutions rituelles.